Do Not Email List: Compliance and Contact Management
Emailing someone who already asked you to stop is the one outreach mistake with real consequences. Pitchbox watches replies for unsubscribe requests and blocks those contacts across your account automatically. This shows where that list lives, how to add contacts yourself, and why compliance removals are permanent.
Let's take a look at the Do Not Email list. Now, this is a feature inside Pitchbox designed to help you manage your unsubscribed contacts. Now, when you're setting up an account for the first time, it can be a good idea to add any known contacts to this list, but contacts can be added either automatically by the system or manually as you go through your link-building journey. Let's take a look at how to find this setting. First, head to System Settings, and then select Do Not Email from the list. What you'll see on the left is all of the contacts that have been added to your unsubscribed list.
Now, as mentioned, this can be done automatically when a contact responds with the word unsubscribe to any of your outgoing communications. Pitchbox is designed to identify that language and automatically add that person to the Do Not Email list. Now, this will be an account-wide block, meaning that you won't be able to send any further communications to that email address, but contacts can also be added to this list manually. To do so, first head on over to Add to the Do Not Email list, and then choose whether you want that contact to be blocked account-wide or for a single project.
Once you've made your selection, enter in the list of email addresses or the domain, one per line in the box below. Once entered, just select Add to the block list. You may also notice that we do have the ability to remove a contact from the Do Not Email list. One thing to note is that this action can only be taken on contacts that were added by you or your team. Any contacts added to this list via unsubscribe for compliance reasons cannot be removed from that list. Now, let's take a look at some of the ways that you can add a contact to this list while you're working in the workflow.
Now anytime that you are working with a contact within the system at any stage, you will always have the option to mark that contact as unsubscribed. To do so, simply hover next to the contact and look for the mark as unsubscribed icon. When you do so, that contact will be added to the Do Not Email list. Now again, when you select this, you can choose for it to be all projects or just for this project only. If you have been given a contact directly and you need to find them in order to add them to the block list, the quickest way is to actually search for that contact using the search bar in the top right hand corner.
Simply enter the email ID to locate the contact. For example, we'll search for the contact, find them from our contact list and this will bring you to your address book. From here, just simply select the unsubscribe contact for them to be added to the Do Not Email list.